OSHA's hazard communication standard (HCS) has been in effect for more than 20 years, but it continues to be at the top of the list of most-cited standards. Last year, for instance, there were more than 2,500 citations on the hazcom written plan, nearly 800 for container labeling violations and close to 1,300 related to MSDSs.

What are the trouble spots, and where do employers run into problems? What should you know about the standard and OSHA enforcement to keep out of trouble?

Last fall, OSHA released a Proposed Final Ruleto revise the HCS to bring it into “harmonization” with the Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals, or GHS. What changes can we look for, and, more importantly, what will not change? How will the GHS affect your company and what should you be doing now to get ready for those changes?

Join J.J. Keller & Associates for the upcoming complimentary Webcast, OSHA's Hazard Communication Standard: HazCom and the Future of GHS, on March 30 at 1 p.m. Central Time (2 p.m. ET / noon MT / 11 a.m. PT). You will hear about the hazcom standard and learn how you can avoid common problems that trip employers up. The session will also discuss the Proposed Rule and what changes will occur when OSHA "harmonizes" the hazcom standard with the GHS, along with a look at the adoption timeline.

Do you have questions on this topic? If so, let J.J. Keller know. The company will try to incorporate the answer into the material presented during the Webcast. You also will be able to ask questions during the Webcast.

For additional information on J.J. Keller & Associates, visit www.jjkeller.com.