Get more knowledgeable about OSHA's Bloodborne Pathogens Standard

RP news wires
Tags: workplace safety

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) requires that you protect your employees from the risk of bloodborne pathogens (BBP). Workers in many different occupations may be exposed to a variety of BBPs, including Hepatitis B, Hepatitis C and HIV.

First-aiders, housekeepers, laboratory workers, waste haulers, law enforcement officers, maintenance personnel, and nurses and other healthcare providers are just a few examples of workers who may be at risk of exposure.

The Bloodborne Pathogens Standard, 1910.1030, sometimes creates a lot of questions for employers. These include questions like:

  • Are you required to have a written bloodborne pathogens plan?
  • Who must be offered the Hepatitis B vaccination series?
  • Can an employee decline the vaccination?
  • What about good Samaritans?
  • What training is required?

The Bloodborne Pathogens Standard is one of the most misunderstood and most often violated of all of OSHA's standards. In fact, the Bloodborne Pathogens Standard continues to be cited more than 1,000 times each year.

Join J.J. Keller & Associates for a free Webcast, "Bloodborne Pathogens Standard: Are your compliance efforts cutting it?", on Wednesday, February 24, at 1 p.m. Central Time (2 p.m. Eastern, 12 noon Mountain and 11 a.m. Pacific).

The Webcast will address these questions and attempt to clear up the confusion over some of the rule's basic requirements, including:

  • The written plan
  • Control measures
  • Housekeeping
  • Vaccination
  • Training
  • Signs and labels

Do you have questions on this topic? If so, let J.J. Keller & Associates know. They will try to incorporate the answer into the material presented during the Webcast. You will also be able to ask questions during the Webcast.

For more information, visit the J.J. Keller & Associates Web site at www.jjkeller.com.


About the Author