There have been many changes in leadership at OSHA and EPA over the past year. What will this mean for enforcement and standards-setting? What should you be prepared for?

 

For instance, OSHA has recently changed regulatory references to ANSI and national consensus personal protective equipment standards. How will this affect OSHA enforcement activities? More importantly, what will these changes mean to employers?

 

There is a new National Emphasis Program (NEP) for Chemical Facilities covered by OSHA's Process Safety Management of Highly Hazardous Chemicals standard. OSHA is implementing a one-year NEP to reduce or eliminate workplace hazards associated with the catastrophic release of highly hazardous chemicals (HHCs). Are you prepared for additional inspections which will take place throughout the U.S.?

 

We have seen the need to address combustible dust rulemaking and enforcement, and OSHA is moving to do just that. The agency has announced that it is issuing an Advanced Notice of Proposed Rulemaking and will evaluate possible regulatory methods related to combustible dust. How will this affect the industry?

 

Ergonomics is once again in OSHA's gun sights, with the change of administration, and the agency will look at the causes of disabling workplace injuries. What is OSHA considering? And how will that impact you?

 

Going beyond inspections

Join J.J. Keller & Associates on Wednesday, November 11, at 1 p.m. CT (11 a.m. PT / 12 noon MT / 2 p.m. ET) for its next complimentary Webcast, Agency Buzz '09: The latest from OSHA and EPA. The Webcast will focus on the latest agency activities – what you need to know to stay one step ahead of the regulators and make it easier to keep your workplace safe and compliant.

 

Click here to register and join this timely and informative Webcast.

 

You can submit questions prior to the Webcast by clicking here. The editors will do their best to answer them during the Webcast. By asking your questions before the Webcast, the editors presenting the Webcast have a chance to review them and can make sure that the answers are included in the Webcast. As always, we will provide time for questions and answers at the conclusion of the webcast.

 

Can't make the live event? You can listen to all of Keller Online's previously aired Webcasts by visiting the Webcast archives in the Learning Center. Click here to see a list of archived Webcast events.